Missed My Stop

A funny thing happened yesterday.  I was reviewing my positions, and my system told me I was stopped out of GME with a loss of 0.4%.  “Oh, no I am not,” I replied, “I am still in it, and it’s still green.”  The position had looked good all day, and I was surprised to see that tail reaching down to $52.71.

GME Chart2Sure enough, if my system had been trading automatically, it would have taken the loss.  I don’t use hard stops, though.  I have a soft stop, which is a number written on my daily sheet.  It relies on human intervention (me) to push the button.  You can see why I missed the stop.  Here it is, in two-minute bars:

GME Chart1That sudden dip lasted a few seconds, the result of stop-hunting robots.  If you don’t believe me about the robots, consult Eric Hunsader.  They have burned me before, but not today.  Score one for the humans.

This entry was posted in Strategies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

